The Route

The route is divided into five sections each approximately 12 miles long.

Section 1 – Castle to Church

Start from the centre of Bishop’s Castle walk along the Kerry Ridgeway, through the Edenhope Valley, Offa’s Dyke and on to Mainstone church.

Section 2 – Church to Castle

Continue along Offa’s Dyke and the spectacular Cefn’s Ridge. Drop down to Clun and visit this lovely town with it’s Norman castle, church and interesting houses. Then climb again over the ridge to Hopton Castle, and Three Ashes.

Section 3 – The Quietest Place

Climb over Clunbury Hill and down to Aston-on-Clun, famous for its Arbor tree.Then over Hopesay Common to Plowden station, once part of the Bishop’s Castle Railway, and onwards to Asterton

Section 4 – In High Places

Up onto the Long Mynd past the Midland Gliding Club with gliders and paragliders; then down to Bridges and across to the rocky Stiperstones and The Bog lead mines.

Section 5 – The Last Leg

Walk across Stapely Common to the ancient stones of Mitchell’s Fold, over Corndon Hill and Roundton Hill and into the Camlad valley before the final stretch through Saddlers Little wood and return to Bishop’s Castle.

We recommend that you use the guide booklet in conjunction with the Explorer maps, 216, 217 and 201